Window Wanderland- Montpelier 2018

I’m very excited to share that after coordinating a workshop for Dolphin School Year 4 pupils to work with Hannah Broadway, a local artist and illustrator, I was inspired by the children to get involved with a local community project called Window Wanderland. I thought why not?! Let’s give it a go!

I had no idea what I was going to make, or how I was going to do it, for a start I could hardly reach the top of my window! But in true Rachel Fenwick fashion I started making midday Saturday and I was still making right until 5.55pm ready for 6pm start! Lights on and here we go!

My practice has always revolved around the home, and back in my 2nd year of Fine Art I was obsessed with the idea of private v public. I made a piece called ‘Nothing like the Privacy of Your Own Home’ If my flat had been on the ground floor I think I would have been tempted to just open the curtains wide and have my home life on display to all. But being upstairs no one would be able to see in anyway. So instead I thought about a Gaston Bachelard quote I used to love. I couldn’t source the exact quote but I know it was something like- ‘Our Homes Frame our Memories.’ Initially I had hoped to write ‘Our Homes Frame our Treasured Memories,’ but lack of space only allowed only the first phrase. I wanted the viewer to think about all the time we spend in our homes. It’s where we wash up, wake up and kiss our partners, sleep, chill on the sofa, listen to our favourite song dancing around the kitchen, where we dine with friends, say ‘cheers’ with a glass of wine, listen to each others problems, share a cup of tea. Our memories are framed within those walls. Our private space. Our Corner of the World.